Capacity Building Workshops

Faith-Based Services

Dialogues between
Funders & Nonprofits

Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island, The Bronx

Donor Centered Dialogues

2011 Capacity-Builder Awards
l Past Awardees


Awards & Recognition

Clients & Sponsors





Valerie Oliver-Durrah

Board of Directors

NTAC Accomplishments
Presentation PDF

Building Partnerships (PDF)

The Neighborhood Technical
Assistance Clinic (NTAC) 
is a registered nonprofit organization




The Neighborhood Technical Assistance Clinic is pleased to highlight the accomplishments of  committed Community Capacity Builders with the annual Neighborhood Advocate Awards, that are  presented to individuals who support projects on the front lines of neighborhood life, in appreciation for their interest in and commitment to our communities.   This page highlights this year's recipients.  Click here to see winners from prior years.

Friday, April 29th, 2011

9:15 am – 12:00 noon
Concord Baptist Church of Christ
833 Marcy Avenue (corner of Madison Avenue)
Brooklyn, New York 11216


Magee Hickey - Mistress of Ceremonies  

We were proud to welcome WCBS-2 and newscasting veteran, Magee Hickey as the 2011 Mistress of Ceremonies. She started her career in 1979 as an anchor at WLNE-TV in Providence, Rhode Island. She moved to New York in 1982 to report at WNEW-TV (later WNYW-TV)[2] and later at WABC-TV Eyewitness News. She also worked several years as a reporter and anchor for WNBC-TV in New York where she was co-anchor of "Weekend Today in New York". She then moved to WCBS-TV in 1994 where she was a reporter. 

Our Hosts and Sponsor
Rev. Dr. Gary V. Simpson
Senior Pastor, Concord Baptist Church of Christ
Marty Markowitz
Brooklyn Borough
Valerie Oliver-Durrah, President,
NTAC and Seth Edwards,  JPMorgan Chase Foundation, Brooklyn and Staten Island, sponsor of the Neighborhood Advocate Awards
2011 Recipients


Richard Brown  
Vice President of Philanthropy at American Express



Jasmine Thomas
Program Officer, Surdna Foundation

The following are past recipients:

Marina Belessis-Casoria Con Edison ˇ  Earl Brown, Bronx Deputy Borough President   ˇ Cesar J. Claro, Richmond County Savings Foundation  ˇ  Leroy Comrie, City Councilman District 27  ˇ Daphne Foundation   ˇ Betsy Dubovsky, The Staten Island Foundation ˇ  Kanyere Eaton, The Sister Fund ˇ Seth C. Edwards, JP Morgan Chase  ˇ Ben Esner, Independence Community Foundation ˇ Lucy Friedman, The After-School Corporation ˇ Penny Fujiko Willgerodt, Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors ˇ Marilyn Gelber, The Independence Community Foundation ˇ  Linetta Gilbert, the Ford Foundation   ˇ  Ed Goldberg, MACY's  ˇ Yvonne Graham, Brooklyn Deputy Borough President  ˇ Hope Harley, Verizon, retired   ˇ  Laureen Henry, Richmond County Savings Foundation  ˇ  Erica Hunt, Twenty-First Century Foundation ˇ Sunita Mehta, Funders Concerned About AIDS  ˇ Kenneth D. Merin, Charles Hayden Foundation  ˇ Commissioner Jeanne B. Mullgrav, NYC Department of Youth and Community Development  ˇ  Alton S. Murray, Public Affairs, Con Edison ˇ  New York City Administration for Children’s Services  ˇ   New York State Office of Children & Family Services ˇ  Ana L. Oliveira, President & CEO New York Women’s Foundation  ˇ Lisa Philp, Global Foundations Group, JP Morgan Private Bank ˇ Rosemonde Pierre-Louis, Manhattan Deputy Borough President ˇ Stuart Post, Program Officer. Independence Community Foundation ˇ Yvonne Riley-Tepie, Assistant Vice President – Marketing, TD Bank  ˇ  Ben Rodriquez-Cubenas Rockefeller Brothers Fund ˇ Kevin Ryan, Program Officer, New York Foundation ˇ Fazana Saleem-Ismail, Robin Hood Foundation ˇ Debra Smallwood, Con Edison ˇ Patricia Swann, New York Community Trust  ˇ Marianne Teta, Verizon ˇ Union Square Awards Board of Directors  ˇ  Guy Vickers, President, The Tommy Hilfiger Corporate Foundation ˇ  Rev. John H. Vaughn, Program Director, The Twenty-First Century Foundation ˇ Angie Wang, New York Women’s Foundation  ˇ Phyllis White-Thorne, Con Edison  ˇ Toya Williford, Independence Community Foundation  ˇ Alfonso Wyatt, Fund for the City of New York ˇ Elwanda Young, United Way of New York City ˇ Antonia Yuille Williams, Con Edison.

Last Update:  05/17/2017